Learn more about our charitable status.

View content

The University of Winchester is an exempt charity. As such, it is required to have charitable purposes and apply them for the public benefit. The University must comply with the general law of charity. Members of the Board of Governors are charitable trustees.
Under the Charities Act 2006, the Higher Education Council for England (HEFCE) acts as the principal regulator for universities that are exempt charities. HEFCE has a duty to promote compliance by charity trustees with their legal obligations in exercising control and management of the administration of their charity.

Legal name and correspondence address

University of Winchester
Sparkford Road
Hampshire SO22 4NR

Governors of the University

Diocesan Governors

Alan Lovell
The Rt Revd The Bishop of Winchester Tim Dakin
Mark Byford
Andrew Robinson
The Rt Revd The Bishop of Basingstoke David Williams
Jane Jessop

Co-optative Governors

Win Harris CBE
David Cook
Margaret Chin-Wolf
Bruce Elkins
Professor Chris Gaskell
Emma Page

Former Student Governor

Peter Lidgitt

Academic Governors

Professor Joy Carter
Professor Elizabeth Stuart
Professor Neil Marriott
Colette Fletcher
Professor Nigel Tubbs

Support Staff Governors

Dr Lesley Black
Tom Lowe

Student Governor

Megan Ball

Register of Interests

  • Mark Byford is a trustee of the RNLI and a member of St Matthew and St Paul’s Winchester PCC.
  • Professor Joy Carter is a director of UCAS, UVAC and the QAA.
  • David Cook is Chairman of the Bracknell Forest Borough Council Economic and Skills Development Partnership and trustee of ‘more arts’ Wokingham Cultural Partnership.
  • Timothy John Dakin is Chair of Anglican Missioners of Africa Development and Education Trust and Trustee of the Bishop of Winchester’s Ugandan Church Trust.
  • Winifred Anne Charlotte Harris is a Governor of Hackney Community College, London.
  • Jane Frances Mark Jessop is the founder of the Blue Apple Theatre.
  • Alan Charles Lovell is a trustee of Hampshire Cultural Trust, Mary Rose Trust, Blue Lamp Trust, Winchester Cathedral Trust and Winchester Cathedral Council.
  • David Grant Williams is Chair of Trustees for the Ascension Trust (Winchester).

Memorandum and Articles of Association 

The legal framework within which the University operates is contained in the Memorandum and Articles of Association of the University Board of Governors
The Board of Governors and its committees meet on a regular basis throughout the year. Governors are responsible for setting the educational character of the University, determining its Mission and Vision, and for the oversight of its activities.

Financial Statements

The full audited consolidated financial statements are available for download.